skip to Main Content
Taste Canada Names Its Top Cookbooks Of 2015
Michael Smith

Winner Michael Smith with his book, Family Meals

Taste Canada has announced the nation’s culinary writers who best translate plate to print.

Hosted by chefs Vikram Vij and Ricardo Larrivée, the 18th annual Taste Canada – The Food Writing Awards were revealed at the Gala Fundraiser and Reception at Oliver & Bonacini’s Arcadian in Toronto on Sept. 21. 

“This year’s submissions were a wonderful reflection of the varied landscapes in Canadian food,” said Donna Dooher, national chair of Taste Canada and president and CEO of Restaurants Canada.

Taste Canada’s judges reviewed 69 cookbook entries, as well as 27 blog entries, to select the winners for the five categories. This year’s award recipients are:

Culinary Narratives: Secrets of a Hutterite Kitchen: Unveiling the Rituals, Traditions, and Food of the Hutterite Culture by Mary-Ann Kirkby.

General Cookbooks: Family Meals by Michael Smith.

Regional/Cultural Cookbooks: The SoBo Cookbook: Recipes from the Tofino Restaurant at the End of the Canadian Road by Lisa Ahier and Andrew Morrison.

Single-Subject Cookbooks: Duchess Bake Shop by Giselle Courteau.

Best Food Blog Post: Whole Roasted Cauliflower with Hazelnut, Orange, and Saffron by Allison Day of

In the French language categories, the winners are:

Livres de narration culinaire: Ainsi cuisinaient les belles-sœurs dans l’œuvre de Michel Tremblay : Une traversée de notre patrimoine culinaire 1913 – 1963. Anne Fortin.

Livres de cuisine générale: Ensemble : Cuisine gourmande et colorée. Christelle Tanielian.

Ensemble : Cuisine gourmande et colorée. Christelle Tanielian.

Livres de cuisine générale: Ensemble : Cuisine gourmande et colorée. Christelle Tanielian.

Livres de cuisine régionale et culturelle: La récolte. Bernard Dubé. (Mention Spéciale).

Livres de cuisine de sujet unique: Soupes-repas gourmandes. Anne-Louise Desjardins. Guy Saint-Jean, Éditeur, Laval.

Blogue culinaire – meilleure publication: Pizza 3 minutes : saucisses italiennes, épinards, tomates cerises, cœurs d’artichauts et mozzarella by Christelle Tanielian. Christelle Is Flabbergasting.

This year marks the first time Taste Canada has included food blogs in its awards.

“The Canadian culinary world continues to thrive as we enter a new era of information sharing,” Dooher said.

During the gala, Rose Murray, Nellie Lyle Pattinson, Helen Wattie and Elinor Donaldson Whyte received Taste Canada’s Hall of Fame Award.

Murray is the author of more than 10 books, including two Taste Canada Gold Awards.

Pattinson (1879 – 1953) is the author of the Canadian Cook Book, which quickly became the textbook of choice for schools across the country.

Cacao Barry Chocolate

Cacao Barry Display by Sergio Shidomi

Wattie and Donaldson are the authors of Nellie Lyle Pattinson’s Canadian Cook Book, a 1953 publication that includes the nation’s first chapter on regional dishes as well as what is considered the first pizza recipe published in Canada.

Back To Top
Close search